Page d'accueil du site Navigation principale Début du contenu principal Plan du site Rechercher sur le site

Communication

PRESS RELEASE

The three prize winners of the 5th Vaud International Business Awards are raising the profile of the region’s economy

Lausanne, 8th November 2018 – TESA, leader in precision measurement tools, BOBST, worldwide supplier of machines for packaging manufacturers, and SOPHiA GENETICS, world leader in data-driven medicine, were rewarded for their achievements at the VIBAs this Thursday evening at the IMD Business School in front of 300 guests. Collectively awarded by the Department of Economics, Innovation and Sport (DEIS), the Vaud Chamber of Commerce and Industry (CVCI) and Economic Development – Vaud (DEV), this award recognises three companies that are both excelling beyond our borders and also the driving powers of Vaud’s economy.

Founded in 1941 and based in Renens, TESA SA blew away the competition in its category “Foreign Business”. The company, which makes precision measurement tools, hand-held tools and measuring sensors, became part of the Swedish group Hexagon, a global supplier of information technology, in 2001. Many of its innovations were made possible thanks to collaborations with universities in the region, in particular the EPFL. Currently, TESA has around 800 employees around the world, with 300 based in Renens (13 of whom are trainees). Their main clients are in the mechanic, automotive and medical industries, giving them an annual revenue of almost CHF 100,000,000. As well as the site in Renens, the company has affiliates in Europe, Japan and the USA, and a factory in China.

Outstanding in its category “Swiss Business”, BOBST, world leader in packaging and labelling solutions, has been around for 128 years. The company has more than 5,400 employees around the world, with some 2,000 in Vaud (of whom around 200 are trainees). To stay at the height of innovation, the company is built around 4 principles: to learn, innovate, industrialise and establish. Last year in Cheseaux, the company also created the start-up Mouvent, its Centre of Expertise in digital printing. Currently, 25,500 BOBST machines are used worldwide. The company has sales and service networks in more than 50 countries and production sites across three continents. In 2017, BOBST’s revenue rose to CHF 1,528,000,000.

SOPHiA GENETICS, founded in 2011 at the EPFL, set itself apart in the category “The Panel’s Special Award”. Based in Saint-Sulpice since 2014, the company currently has 66 employees in the region and some 130 more around the world. This world leader in data-driven medicine created the AI SOPHiA and work with a network of more than 850 hospitals in 77 countries. SOPHiA technology is used by hundreds of university hospitals around the world in order to better diagnose and treat patients thanks to an ultra-precise analysis of genomic data. As well as clinical genomics, the analytical power of SOPHiA also now corresponds to the needs of radiology and clinical trials. Responding to growing demand in the American market, an operational centre was opened in Boston last September. Currently, 20 employees work in the USA, a number that should grow to 50 in the next year.

The award ceremony returned on 8th November with its panel of judges and three organisers. Presided over by Philippe Leuba, Head of DEIS, this year’s panel consisted of Aude Pugin, President of CVCI, Manuel Leuthold, President of DEV, Jean-Philippe Bonardi, Professor and Head of HEC Lausanne and Dominique Turpin, Head of External Relations at IMD in Lausanne. The previous year’s winners were also present – Thibaud Stoll, Managing Director of Biotech Production Sites for Merck, Alexandre Pesci, CEO of LEMO and André Wider, CEO of Wider SA.

One award, three categories

Since 2014, every autumn the VIBAs honour three businesses both active internationally and represented on Vaud soil. The prize winners are chosen based on a series of criteria, including the presence of a social seat in the region for at least 3 years, a contribution to the world’s image of the region and the creation of jobs locally. The category “International Business” takes into account local production of goods or services, economic diversification, local subcontracting and integration. The winner of the “Swiss Business” category is chosen according to criteria such as professional development, scientific collaborations and international expansion. The “Panel’s Special Award” honours a particularly innovative business, committed to the region and collaborating with other local businesses.
 

Notre partenaire

In collaboration with

  

 


 

Contact

Laurine Chiarini

International Link Officer

+41 21 613 36 63
+41 21 613 35 05

Page d'accueil du site Navigation principale Début du contenu principal Plan du site Rechercher sur le site

Communication

COMMUNIQUE DE PRESSE 

Les trois lauréats du 5e Prix Vaudois des Entreprises Internationales (PVEI) font rayonner l’économie du canton

Lausanne, le 8 novembre 2018 – Les entreprises TESA, leader dans les instruments de mesure de précision, BOBST, fournisseur mondial de machines destinées aux fabricants d’emballages, et SOPHiA GENETICS, leader mondial de la médecine basée sur les données, ont été récompensées lors du PVEI, ce jeudi soir à l'IMD, devant quelque 300 invités. Décerné conjointement par le Département de l'économie, de l'innovation et du sport (DEIS), la Chambre vaudoise du commerce et de l'industrie (CVCI) et le Développement Economique - Canton de Vaud (DEV), ce prix récompense trois sociétés qui brillent au-delà de nos frontières, et qui sont de surcroît des moteurs de l'économie vaudoise.

Fondée en 1941 et basée à Renens, TESA SA l’a emporté dans la catégorie « Entreprise étrangère ». La société, qui fabrique des outils de mesure de précision, instruments à main et têtes de mesure, a rejoint en 2001 le groupe suédois Hexagon, fournisseur global de technologies d'information. Nombre de ses innovations ont pu être réalisées grâce à une coopération avec les hautes écoles de la région, en particulier l’EPFL. TESA compte aujourd’hui environ 800 employés dans le monde, dont 300 à Renens (parmi lesquels 13 apprentis). Ses clients proviennent notamment de l’industrie mécanique, automobile et médicale, pour un chiffre d’affaires annuel de près de 100 millions de francs. Outre le site de Renens, l’entreprise possède des filiales en Europe, au Japon et aux USA, ainsi qu’une usine en Chine. 

Distingué dans la catégorie « Entreprise suisse », BOBST, leader mondial de solutions pour l’emballage et l’étiquette, existe depuis 128 ans. L’entreprise compte plus de 5400 collaborateurs dans le monde, dont quelque 2000 dans le canton (comprenant 200 apprentis environ). Pour rester à la pointe de l’innovation, l’entreprise mise sur quatre piliers : apprendre, innover, industrialiser et implanter. L’année dernière à Cheseaux, elle a ainsi créé la start-up Mouvent, son Centre de Compétences pour l’impression numérique. Actuellement, 25'500 machines BOBST sont utilisées dans le monde. La société dispose d’un réseau de vente et services dans plus de 50 pays et ses sites de production sont présents sur trois continents. En 2017, le chiffre d’affaires de BOBST se montait à quelque 1528 millions de francs suisses. 

L’entreprise SOPHiA GENETICS, fondée à l’EPFL en 2011, s’est illustrée dans la catégorie « Prix spécial du jury ». Basée à Saint-Sulpice depuis 2014, elle compte aujourd’hui 66 employés dans le canton, et quelque 130 dans le monde. Le leader mondial de la médecine basée sur les données (Data-Driven Medicine), qui a créé l’intelligence artificielle SOPHiA, travaille avec un réseau de plus de 850 hôpitaux dans 77 pays. La technologie SOPHiA a été adoptée par des centaines d’hôpitaux universitaires à travers le monde afin de mieux diagnostiquer et traiter les patients grâce à l’analyse ultra précise des données génomiques. En plus de la génomique clinique, la puissance analytique de SOPHiA s’applique désormais aussi aux besoins en radiomique et essais cliniques. Pour répondre à la demande croissante sur le marché américain, un centre opérationnel a été ouvert à Boston en septembre dernier. 20 employés travaillent actuellement aux Etats-Unis, nombre qui devrait atteindre une cinquantaine dans l’année à venir. 

Les prix ont été remis ce 8 novembre par des représentants du jury et des trois organisateurs. Présidé par Philippe Leuba, chef du DEIS, le jury de cette édition comptait Aude Pugin, présidente de la CVCI, Manuel Leuthold, président du DEV, Jean-Philippe Bonardi, professeur et doyen de HEC Lausanne et Dominique Turpin, responsable des relations extérieures à l'IMD à Lausanne. Les gagnants de l’édition précédente y étaient également intégrés - Thibaud Stoll, directeur des sites de production biotechnologique de Merck, Alexandre Pesci, CEO de LEMO et André Wider, CEO de Wider SA. 
  

Un prix, trois catégories

Depuis 2014, le PVEI honore chaque automne trois entreprises actives à l’international et présentes sur sol vaudois. Les lauréats sont désignés sur la base d’une série de critères, parmi lesquels la présence d’un siège social dans le canton depuis trois ans au moins, une contribution à l’image du canton à l’étranger ou encore la création d’emplois localement. La catégorie « Entreprise internationale » prend en compte la production locale de biens ou services, la diversification économique, la sous-traitance locale et l’intégration. Le lauréat de la catégorie « Entreprise suisse » est choisi d’après des critères tels que la formation professionnelle, les collaborations scientifiques ou encore l’expansion à l’international. La catégorie « Prix spécial du jury » distingue une entreprise particulièrement innovante, engagée localement et collaborant avec d’autres entreprises du canton. 

Avec la collaboration de

  

 



Contact

Laurine Chiarini

International Link Officer

+41 21 613 36 63
+41 21 613 35 05